My autism means that my brain is rarely stable for long. This is a major pain, especially being in lockdown.

I came up with this super clever idea to make a list of tasks and challenges to complete whilst I am confined to the four walls of my house. What a perfect idea right? (:

The problems I have with this are:

  • Too much pressure – Having a list of exciting tasks and challenges is great if I’m in the right mood. If I’m not, I will just look at the list and crumble.
  • If for some reason I am unable to complete the task, it may cause a meltdown.
  • My brain looks at lists I have set for each day and sometimes, the tasks I have set for that day I am not in the mood for. I then find it extremely difficult to chose a different task to do on a different day.
  • I feel like a failure- looking back at the tasks I set myself and realising I have done a whopping 10% can really put a downer on my mood.

I am still learning what works for me and what doesn’t. Especially at the moment with the situation we are in, it is proving difficult for me to adapt to a new routine and way of living.

If anyone has any thoughts or experiences the same thing, I’d love to know. Also, any advice is definitely welcome.

Leave a comment